Skip to content

Primary Election Results for Macoupin County

Tom Denby won the Republican nomination for Circuit Judge.


Enquirer~Democrat Reporter

A small percentage of Macoupin Voters turned up to vote in the Primary Elections of March 19. Only 5,741 ballots were cast out of 30,757 registered voters in the County, about 18 percent.

Joe Biden won the Democratic nomination in Macoupin County with 89 percent of the vote. Donald Trump won the Republican nomination with 83 percent of the vote.

Nikki Budzinksi ran unopposed on the Democratic ticket for the 13th Congressional District. Joshua Loyd pulled ahead of Thomas Clatterbuck for the Republic nomination for the 13th Congressional District with 57 percent of the vote.

Elizabeth Bron, Kent Gray and Myles Nelson won the majority of the votes for the Republican Congressional 13th District Delegate out of nine candidates. There were six candidates in the running on the Democratic Ticket with six voting opportunities.

Christopher Davidsmeyer ran unopposed as the Republican nominee for State Representative for the 100th district and Wayne Rosenthal ran unopposed on the Republican Ticket for State Representative for the 108th District.

Jordan Garrison and Anthony Kravanya ran unopposed on the Democratic ticket for the State’s Attorney and County Coroner positions respectively. Amy Ashby ran unopposed on the Republican Ticket for County Circuit Clerk.

All of the current county board members ran for their positions again and were re-nominated.

There were three Macoupin County residents on the Republican Ballot to take over as Circuit Court Judge in the 7th Judicial Circuit, Judge Ken Deihl’s current position. Thomas Denby won the nomination with 63 percent of the vote. Jonathan Verticchio followed with 23 percent of the vote and Aaron Bellm came away with 13 percent of the vote.

Those running for Precinct Committeeperson ran mostly unopposed, the only exception was the Republican Candidate for the Dorchester Committeeperson. Sally Ann Karnes won the race against Lisa Astemborksi with 64 percent of the vote.