Skip to content

SCC All-Conference basketball rosters released

Enquirer Democrat Reporter

The 2023-24 All-South Central Conference high school basketball teams were loaded with Macoupin County talent on the girls’ side. The boys’ roster also featured a couple of local stars.

Grace Bekeske and Ele Feldmann, a junior duo that helped lead Staunton to its first ever SCC title this winter, headlined the girls’ first team alongside Gillespie’s Mia Brawner, North Mac’s Abby Hendricks and Carlinville’s Isabella Tiburzi.

The girls’ second team featured Staunton’s Lilly Bandy, North Mac’s Taylor Kiers, Carlinville’s Kaitlyn Reels and Gillespie freshman Amari Vickery.

A couple of female athletes additionally made the cut for third team honors – Jordyn Loveless of Carlinville and Delaney Taylor of Gillespie.

Bekeske, Feldmann, Bandy, Brawner, Tiburzi, Reels, Vickery, Loveless and Taylor can all run it back for what is expected to be a loaded girls’ conference in 2024-25.

Towering bigs J.T. Alexander (North Mac) and Ian Brantley (Southwestern) were selected as boys’ first team members. Four players also made the third team, including Staunton freshman Isaiah Laux, who was the only non-senior amongst five other honorees. Laux was joined by Rocky Darr (Southwestern), Dane Vance (North Mac) and Tristen Wargo (Gillespie).

The complete girls’ and boys’ South Central All-Conference rosters are listed below.

First team
Grace Bekeske (Staunton)
Mia Brawner (Gillespie)
Katie Campbell (Greenville)
Ele Feldmann (Staunton)
Abby Hendricks (North Mac)
Isabella Tiburzi (Carlinville)
Second team
Lilly Bandy (Staunton)
Tatum Christian (Hillsboro)
Taylor Kiers (North Mac)
Kaitlyn Reels (Carlinville)
Emma Vieth (Greenville)
Amari Vickery (Gillespie)
Third team
Katie Eckhardt (Vandalia)
Ella Greenwood (Hillsboro)
Shayna Henderson (Greenville)
Joey Laker (Pana)
Jordyn Loveless (Carlinville)
Delaney Taylor (Gillespie)

First team
J.T. Alexander (North Mac)
Ian Brantley (Southwestern)
Kaleb Gardner (Greenville)
Nathan Matoush (Hillsboro)
Victor McGill (Litchfield)
Tanner Robbins (Vandalia)
Second team
Cale Ackerman (Greenville)
Wade Brannon (Vandalia)
Ethan Hicks (Pana)
Keenan Powell (Litchfield)
A.J. Odle (Litchfield)
Jace Stewart (Hillsboro)
Third team
Rocky Darr (Southwestern)
Nick Grull (Greenville)
Isaiah Laux (Staunton)
Dane Vance (North Mac)
Tristen Wargo (Gillespie)
Clayton Worker (Pana)